11 Books You’ll Love If You Are a Harry Potter Fan

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

This post may contain affiliate links which means if you make a purchase through my links, I will get a small commission at no extra cost to you. I only recommend the products I love and trust.

Books to read if you like Harry Potter

Don’t we all wish there was more Harry Potter books?

Just like any other Potter Head, I wish we had more Harry Potter books. Many more Quidditch matches to witness, more visits to Diagon Alley, and hundreds of more spells to practise. Above all, more books to live like a Hogwarts student again.

Well, these may seem impossible but here are some awesome magic-themed books just like Harry Potter. Exhilarating stories of magical and mythology creatures that are perfect for Harry Potter fans.

If you just finished reading/ rereading Harry Potter books, start reading these thrilling fantasy series immediately!

The Alchemist by Michael Scott

A face-paced fantasy book for mythology lovers. Filled with exciting characters, pleasing and attractive historical background. You will surely enjoy reading it after the Harry Potter series! 

Blurb from Goodreads– Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on 28 September 1330. Nearly seven hundred years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life. The records show that he died in 1418. But his tomb is empty and Nicholas Flamel lives. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. And that’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won’t know what’s happening until it’s too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it. Sometimes legends are true and Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time. 

A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik

This YA fantasy is about a young female wizard who is in a dangerous magic school invaded by monsters. The unique storytelling is both imaginative and compelling. There are numerous students of magic from around the world and the story brings so much diversity.  

Blurb from GoodreadsA Deadly Education is set at Scholomance, a school for the magically gifted where failure means certain death (for real) — until one girl, El, begins to unlock its many secrets. There are no teachers, no holidays, and no friendships, save strategic ones. Survival is more important than any letter grade, for the school won’t allow its students to leave until they graduate… or die! The rules are deceptively simple: Don’t walk the halls alone. And beware of the monsters who lurk everywhere. El is uniquely prepared for the school’s dangers. She may be without allies, but she possesses a dark power strong enough to level mountains and wipe out millions. It would be easy enough for El to defeat the monsters that prowl the school. The problem? Her powerful dark magic might also kill all the other students.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy is the first of six books in the bestselling series. The story revolves around Lissa Dragomir and Rose Hathway. Lissa is mortal and she has got an ever imperishable bond with the earth. Her friend, Rose is engulfed in protecting Lissa’s life from the hands of Strigoi who belongs to hell.  An awesome book if you love reading vampire stories! 

Blurb From Goodreads: Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires—the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them. After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger… and the Strigoi are always close by. Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

When Zachary Ezra stumbles upon a mysterious book in the library, he has no clue that he is about to read his own life story. But once he does he is desperate to follow clues from the book to find the purpose of his life. Infused with lots of exciting and whimsical elements.

Blurb From Goodreads: Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues—a bee, a key, and a sword—that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library hidden far below the surface of the earth. What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians—it is a place of lost cities and seas, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also of those who are intent on its destruction. Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome, barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose—in both the mysterious book and in his own life.

Pennyroyal Academy by M. A.  Larson

It’s a fairy tale which tells the story of an unnamed girl of the woods who enters into a crowded kingdom in the midst of a war. There she gets to realize what’s the true meaning of a princess and surprising things about her own life and certain human values. 

Blurb From Goodreads: A girl from the forest arrives in a bustling kingdom with no name and no idea why she is there, only to find herself at the center of a world at war.  She enlists at Pennyroyal Academy, where princesses and knights are trained to battle the two great menaces of the day: witches and dragons. There, given the name “Evie,” she must endure a harsh training regimen under the steel glare of her Fairy Drillsergeant, while also navigating an entirely new world of friends and enemies. As Evie learns what it truly means to be a princess, she realizes surprising things about herself and her family, about human compassion and inhuman cruelty. And with the witch forces moving nearer, she discovers that the war between princesses and witches is much more personal than she could ever have imagined.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This New York Times Best Seller narrates the story through vintage photographs. Set in modern America and rural lives in Wales, this adventure story is definitely fascinating for both young readers and adults. 

Blurb From Goodreads: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Being an albino the twelve-year-old Sunny couldn’t seem to find comfort in her family home in Nigeria.  She is constantly bullied in school and is never able to enjoy life ever since moving from the USA. However, once she recognizes her unique abilities everything changes for her. 

Blurb From Goodreads: Akata Witch transports the reader to a magical place where nothing is quite as it seems. Born in New York, but living in Aba, Nigeria, twelve-year-old Sunny is understandably a little lost. She is albino and thus, incredibly sensitive to the sun. All Sunny wants to do is be able to play football and get through another day of school without being bullied. But once she befriends Orlu and Chichi, Sunny is plunged into the world of the Leopard People, where your worst defect becomes your greatest asset. Together, Sunny, Orlu, Chichi, and Sasha form the youngest ever Oha Coven. Their mission is to track down Black Hat Otokoto, the man responsible for kidnapping and maiming children. Will Sunny be able to overcome the killer with powers stronger than her own, or will the future she saw in the flames become reality?

The Last Years of Merlin Series by T.A. Barron 

The bestselling fantasy saga tells the story of Merlin’s life in 13 novels. With richly detailed,  well paced and full of exciting characters, this extraordinary series brings a new world to explore after the Harry Potter adventures. 

Blurb From Goodreads: A raging sea tosses a boy upon the shores of ancient Wales. Left for dead, he has no memory, no name, and no home. But it is his determination to find out who he is – to learn the truth about his mysterious powers – that leads him to a strange and enchanted land. And it is there he discovers that the fate of this land and his personal quest are strangely entwined. He is destined to become the greatest wizard of all time–known to all as Merlin.

The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The name of the wind is the first among his Epic fantasy series- King Killer. The book is about Kvothe, a magician and an adventurer. Most of the chapters include his childhood and adulthood explorations. The book is more like an autobiography as it shares the life story of our hero. 

Blurb From Goodreads: Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard

Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab

This fast-paced adventure novel reveals the story of magician Kell who can move around the four parallel worlds called Red, Grey, White, and Black London. Each of them has its own distinct features. Set in these fascinating magic worlds you should grab the whole series right away. 

Blurb From Goodreads: Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black. Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand. After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure. Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This romantic and thrilling fantasy novel is a combination of Westerns and Arabian myths. The book tells the story of Amani, a skilled shooter who wants to live in a city, away from her desert village. Along with the elements of magic this is a perfect read for a Harry Potter fan. 

Blurb From Goodreads: Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic.  For humans, it’s an unforgiving place, especially if you’re poor, orphaned, or female. Amani Al’Hiza is all three. She’s a gifted gunslinger with perfect aim, but she can’t shoot her way out of Dustwalk, the back-country town where she’s destined to wind up wed or dead. Then she meets Jin, a rakish foreigner, in a shooting contest, and sees him as the perfect escape route. But though she’s spent years dreaming of leaving Dustwalk, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse—or that it would take a foreign fugitive to show her the heart of the desert she thought she knew. Rebel of the Sands reveals what happens when a dream deferred explodes—in the fires of rebellion, of romantic passion, and the all-consuming inferno of a girl finally, at long last, embracing her power.

Time for Your action

If not fantasy what other genres do you enjoy reading? Let me know in the comments.

Always curious to hear from you,

Stephy

Special Offers for Ultimate Bookworms

Here a few ways I can help you read more :

Get One Audiobook for free from Audible. Try Audible FREE for 30 days. Great Collection of Audiobooks to listen while you are at home or taking a stroll. You can cancel at any time.

Get 60 days of FREE READING and enjoy up to 60 Audiobooks from Scribd. You can cancel at any time.

Get 10% off on my Reading Printable from ‘The Creative Muggle’ Etsy Shop, Use the code ‘MUGGLE10‘.

Share this post:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Stephy George

Stephy George

Hey Kindred Spirit, I’m Stephy! I am a creative bookworm. This blog is for you if you love to read about books.

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies, by continuing to browse this site you agree with the use of our cookies.